Form button

Operator Training Button

Calendar Button

Minutes Button

Agenda Button

Hydrogeologic Button

Links Button


Weather Forecast



District Staff

The District employs nine full-time professional staff responsible for carrying out the directives of the Board of Directors.  Three full-time and two part-time secretaries as well as one Technician are also employed and serve as District contacts in the five local Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) offices which lie within the District. The Rural Water Projects employ two part-time employees.



Mike Onnen, General Manager
Mike is in charge of the administration, personnel, budget, project development, District planning/policy and Legislative activities.


Vacant, Water Quality Specialist
Daryl is in charge of the District's Water Quality management, chemigation, water sampling, Wellhead Protection, livestock waste review and irrigation runoff.

Jamie Benes, District Secretary

Jamie's duties include Receptionist and Secretarial tasks, Records Management, Wellness Program, maintaining mailing lists and producing mailings.

Jed Bergen, NRD Technician
Jed assists in the Water Quantity and Quality departments.

Marlene Faimon, Programs Manager
Marlene's duties include Information and Education, Cost share programs, erosion and sediment, Superior-Hardy Water Quality Sub-area, land rights, recycling.

Marie Herbek, Administrative Secretary
Marie does the bookkeeping/accounting for both the District and the Rural Water Projects, is grants administrator, maintains the Web Site, as well as has both Secretarial and Receptionsist responsibilities.

Dylan Long, Watershed Coordinator
Dylan's responsibilities is implementation of the Blue Basin Watershed Management Plan.

James Oltmans, Water Resources Technician
Jim assists the Water Quantity and Water Quality Departments and is in charge of the Chemigation Program

Kevin Orvis, Project's Manager
Kevin oversees the District's Water Quantity Management Plan, water meter maintenance, static water levels, drainage and surface water and is the Rural Water Projects Manager.

Kent Thompson, Operations Supervisor
Kent is in charge of the Tree Program, Watershed maintenance, Recreation Area maintenance, Buffer Strip Program, Wildlife Habitat and equipment maintenance.

Amy Wenske, Database Specialist
Amy is the District's Database Specialist. She prepares, compiles and sorts documents for data entry and then enters the data into the Districts database.

NRCS Field Office Staff

Carolyn Janda, Nuckolls County NRCS Secretary
Sylvia Jividen, Fillmore County NRCS Secretary
Melanie McPherson, Thayer County NRCS Secretary
Paula Schultz, Jefferson County NRCS Secretary
Lynetta Snelling, Webster County NRCS Secretary
Rachelle Tompkin, Clay County NRCS Secretary
Rachelle Tompkin, Adams County NRCS Secretary
Christine Zabokrtsky, NRCS Technician in Jefferson County

Rural Water Employees

Bruce Dux, Water Project Superintendent
Paula Schultz, Local Bookkeeper